Angelsbeauty's Blog

…. what's next on my random mind?….

“Friendship” …. a full time job pt 1

It may seem as if I always talk about myself, but the truth is the only person I can talk about in truth and in enough detail to nearly 100% accuracy is myself, so bare with me.

"..I'll be there...."I cherish and value friendship so much even my family sometimes think I love my friends more than my family, that is how bad it is. I have been in so many different kinds of friendships, some are still existing, some hanging by a thread and some long gone and still I am told I have too many friends. That one i agree with, its hard to keep in touch with everyone, but I try.

I am a strong believer in not writing off any source of new friendship because you think you already have enough friends or you think you don’t have enough in common with the person. Here is why, if you only make friends with those you have something in common with, there will be a time where those friends will not be available or a time where you would be going through some issues those friends cannot relate to.

My motto is make friends sensibly with whoever really. I don’t wake up each morning thinking… I must make a new friend today but I am open to whoever wants to be my friend. Let me rephrase, I am approachable to whoever wants to be my friend.  I am also not saying to tell every tom dick and harry your most intimate secrets.  Start off by speaking to them, source them out, decide what category of friends they fall into, and then you then decide how much of your life you are willing to share with them.

In another context, there are friends that will rely on you emotionally and others who you will rely on emotionally, the world is round after all. There are friends who are always negative and those who are positive and those who have their days. You don’t have to pick and choose, just make sure you are prepared for whatever comes your way. If you have some negative friends, make sure you have a way to replenish yourself after conversing with them, try to be as positive as possible to them because they need you to be positive for them. After all everyone has their role to play in this world.

It is very important not to forget yourself in all of this. Find some “you” time otherwise you’ll end up cranky and eventually loose yourself. Another good reason to have a variety of friends. From my experience it is useful to take a break from one group of friends and spend the time with another group of friends. This helps you appreciate what you have in one set that you don’t have in another. It helps put things in perspective. At the same time it is essential to make sure that some friends don’t feel inferior to others. Easier said than done right, but with practice, it’ll be next to breathing.

I have too much to say about friendship and I am sure I am not articulating myself well enough, but this will have to be continued some other day. To end this, a “friend” did something to me the other day that made me think about this: “Who do you go to when life is gray, still and everything seems to go down hill and who do you go to when you are in your prime, when you are happy, when things seem to be perfect“. When you think about it, are you going to the same people? I personally think it is only fair for you to share your happiness with those who shared your sadness with you.

Have a good night.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““Friendship” …. a full time job pt 1

  1. Interesting post, that one. It’s a topic that almost everyone seems to have a different opinion on, but you summed it up pretty well there I reckon.
    I would say you can’t approach friendship in terms of numbers or specific definitions; I know lots of people who I’m friendly with, but far, far fewer I would actually call friends. Frankly most wouldn’t really be approachable if I had a problem or issue. You know friendship when you have it; it’s an organic thing – a friendship can grow like any other relationship. Therefore you can’t have too many friends, ’cause that implies friendship is some sort of fixed, definable thing.
    Also very true what you say about having different group of friends – I think that’s a very good way of opening yourself up to new experiences. Being around one group all the time can make you quite insular.
    Anyway, hope whatever this ‘friend’ did wasn’t too messed up. If someone isn’t there for you, then I say they ain’t worth bothering with in the long run.

It will be lovely to read your comments....

