Angelsbeauty's Blog

…. what's next on my random mind?….

11 hours without my blackberry

Yes I went 11 hours without my blackberry, I purposely left it at home because it distracts me at work. It was like walking without legs, or seeing with my eyes. Okay, I am exaggerating. Other than the fact that every 5 minutes I reached for my phone (out of a habit I have cultivated) to check if I had a new blackberry messenger message, or blog comment, or facebook message, or to tweet etc.

As you can imagine, I was counting down to Β 5pm at the office so i could hurry home, grab my phone and stroke it while I read my messages. Unfortunately, this was not to be the case. I have this deadline tomorrow, but the issue is, the client has not sent us the important information we need to deliver tomorrow. So I had to stay behind to make sense of the little information I had and to ensure the computation was in a somewhat sane state, but at the same time listing the numerous assumptions I have made. I will stop boring you with tax talks and tell you now that I eventually left the office at 6:30pm and was reunited with my blackberry. I received only 12 emails, 2 blackberry group notifications, 3 text messages, 1 missed call, 4 facebook alerts and 8 blackberry messenger messages. Not too bad. I might do it again tomorrow, I had a very productive day at work.

Anyway, on another note, a friend of mine has been hassling me to give an update on my blog about DT, but I don’t think I should yet, I don’t want to jinx it, that is if I haven’t already… *sigh*. For now, lets just say there is a lot of suspense and fun and when I know for sure what the outcome is, that is, whether or not it is going somewhere, I will give you all a summary of it all. The sillies and the smarts, including the bits I left out in the last 3 blogs.

So in line with the loving up theme, seems like all my close friends are loving up seriously. We used to be single together, but 2011 is looking good baby! I just can’t get enough of the gist I have been hearing, I mean, things are getting serious. Good times eh, Β I mean it is our time and what our parents pray for :).

On a more serious note, my ethics and independence exam is on 14 February 2011 ..*sigh*, yes, valentines day. ‘Awwww’ I hear some of you say and ‘what’s the big deal’ I hear others say. In fact, some people did not even realise it was valentines day till I mentioned it. Well it is a very special day to me. In my life, I don’t think I have been in a relationship on this day, so usually I expect no gifts and no one to give gifts to *sigh*. But I have actually been pleasantly surprised twice (three times, but the third does not really count as it was one of my female friends who used to live in Atlanta then, she posted me some chocolate and something else, can’t remember now, but how sweet of her). Once by a toaster and the second time by a good friend. Unfortunately, I did not see it coming so I couldn’t reciprocate. I see you all thinking to yourselves, ‘only three times!!!!’.

When I remember valentines day, I wish I was still at university, because I started this event called ‘Roastos’. IT was meant to be event for singles to come to and just chill, no strings attached. Myself and my friends will cook and we will invite other friends, who invited their friends etc and we partied! Even some couples attended. This went on for 4 consecutive years and it is now (i hear) an official event the Afro-caribbean society my University organises. I feel so proud! Click here for pictures of Roastos part 3.

Since I moved out of London and my friends are everywhere, valentines day has been soooooooo boring!!!!! In fact, I purposely picked my exam to be on this date, so at least I will have something to do on the day. Maybe I will get a pleasant surprise again this year..*hint hint*blogsville, show your girl some love! πŸ˜‰

Anyway people, back to the books. Love you all and thanks for reading. With that, I leave you with 2 of my favourite nigerian songs.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “11 hours without my blackberry

  1. Yes o, please update us about DT, let me live out my boring life through you πŸ™‚

    I’m exactly the same with my iPhone, I CAANOT Do without it!!

    This is the busiest time of year for us, didn’t leave work till half 6 but Im still working, it’s half eleven and I’m trying to send emails to my boss (who is conveniently in Thailand). The annoying thing about it is that my work email won’t send messages from my flat, I need to go OUTSIDE in this buruku weather to send emails

    Anyways, rant over! I don’t know how you were able to do it, I wish I had that kinda willpower πŸ™‚

    Also, you’ll have to forgive me, I’m new to this blogging thing, I deleted your comment by mistake, would you be kind enough as to resend so I’ll post?? Pretty please???

    Xxx

    • Lol at having to go out in the cold to send emails. Mehn I am seeking that will power right now. It is not even funny, in fact I am vexing at the moment. Tomorrow is going to be crazy and the thought of it is partly keeping me awake.

      Well DT is brewing lol.. Could be a hit or miss but hey what is mine won’t pass me by πŸ˜‰ will keep you posted.

      You are forgiven. I’ll stop by tomorrow to re:comment. Xx

  2. Forgot to say, best of luck for your exams, I’m
    Sure you’ll be fine!! Xx

  3. Sheila on said:

    lol… once i went 6 months without my bb and now i am doing 1 month without it..it’s really not that bad cos u get over it after the 2nd week…that thing takes over ur time…but then I have an iphone maybe that’s y i dnt miss the bb much lol…

    best of luck for ur exams o…ethics is a lot cooler than tax so u should be fine πŸ™‚

    • 6 months!!!! Please don’t say that again, 6 months!! lol I can’t imagine life without it. Infact I wonder what took me so long to get one. Its just a very useful organiser and everyone is just a bbm away. Mehn…. no o! I am not trying it. The longest I have gone is 24 hours.

      Thanks for the luck, it is a lot cooler, I am just hoping I get through all the content in time. What do you do work wise? are you an accountant as well?

It will be lovely to read your comments....

