Angelsbeauty's Blog

…. what's next on my random mind?….

Distraction blog

#confession

I should be studying now, I have my third and final mock tomorrow!! A part of me is thinking I should not study because I studied hard for my first mock and finished with 40%. I was wound up and because of that, I did not study for my second mock, I went to the salon the day before to get my hair relaxed and watched tv all night but I prayed before I started the mock and i got 80%. That actually scared me! Firstly, it was like how did that happen?! I feel like God is trying to tell me I can do nothing without him. I confess I did not pray before the first mock. So that is why I am a bit reluctant to study now and happily distracted by this blog. Yes I know I need to study and pray… which I intend to do. But my exam is May 15!

So.. if you are reading this blog, feel very bad because you are  apart of my distraction… buhahahahahaahahah #jokes.. only half joking, but joking!

Number two topic of discussion

Deronk of hitnrunmullings is engaged! What fabulous news! I am so excited! I remember reading her fiance’s blog (I can’t find his url now) about her and then her blog about them and I must say I have grown fond of her on blogsville and I am just sooooooooo happy that she gets to spend the rest of her life with her man! I pray God will be in their union and guide their paths. They will be blessed and their union will be known for nothing but good things and blessings in Jesus name! #Amen to that!

Girlfriend, I am waiting for the full details! Don’t deprive a love junkie before you find me at your door steps.

briefly thinks about tomorrow’s mock… hmmmmm

Point number three of today’s discussion…

I met the CFO of Cairn Energy today and I am inspired! I hear you think why am I not studying then if i am inspired… na you sabi! After a day of case study practising in class, we were told that the CFO would be coming to our class for questions and answers. To be honest I thought it would be a waste of time because what would I be asking her. Let’s just say it was nothing like that, it was an amazing session and I probably ended up asking 40% of the questions!

I was so uninterested that when she entered the class, I was still blogging and reading from now till i do’s blog  (I just discovered it plus it was during our coffee break and I was catching up). But when she started talking and I heard that she was a housewife and she started her career in her early 30’s, she had my full attention, my laptop’s lid was shut automatically and I was listening! She started her training to become a chartered accountant with KPMG in her early 30s with 2 children because she realised she had to become a breadwinner when her husband feel really ill! and now, about 28 years later, she is the CFO of a very successful once FTSE 100 company! She looks amazingggggggggggggggggggggg! I asked all the questions I could think of, especially about my fears in moving out of a professional firm into the industry which I am not keen on and she answered them very well. I mean.. gassh she has it going, or looks like she did! I asked her how she was able to keep on top of everything, sitting in so many committees, being a CFO and being the vice president of ICAS amongst being a mother and a wife and other things and she said she has a great second in command. So people, when you get to the top, hire someone who is amazing to be your second in command, it makes life easier for you!

After the class, I was feeling motivated and sent a text to my beloved telling him I wanted to be a CFO in 10 years.. lol and he sent an equally excited text back to me with his support and telling me he loves me.. *sigh* I love him too….

I know some of you will be counting down now and come back here in 10 years to see if I am a CFO. I will caveat it slightly by saying I haven’t discussed this new plan with God yet, like I know very well.. for any plan to be successful, it needs a stamp from God.

Unto point number four

Honey mooooooooooooon and wedding gift list!

O la la la la lala – so we have taken ages to conclude on a honeymoon destination especially as I still have green pali (pasport) and I need a visa to go to most places and my uncle and aunt have given us a book to pick a honeymoon destination from that they will pay for the accomodation but the book does not include a lot of visa free countries for Nigerians other than St Kitts and Nevis which we both were not too keen on.

*breathes*

That was a very long sentence with not a lot of full stops or commas.. sorry was just too excited to get it all out there that I couldn’t stop!

Shall I share the possible honeymoon destination with you? hmmm… not yet, but soon maybe… a little bit of suspense. I feel like I tell you people too much. I should put you in a bit of suspense sometimes.

So, another reason I don’t feel like studying is because all I want to do is research this honeymoon destination and pinpoint where exactly in that country or that island (hint hint) we want to go to….*whistles*

Oh and we have a giftlist with John Lewis! I didn’t realise it will be such hardwork putting it together. I still haven’t finished. Trying not to make the things on the list too expensive, but using John Lewis, it is quite hard! My friend used Debenhams for her wedding last year and she said she doesn’t recommend them hence why we picked John Lewis. I hope our guests in Nigeria who want to give us gifts will kindly use he giftlist because mehn, there is no way we will be bringing 4 coolers, 3 sets of plates, and whatever else people give as wedding gifts in Nigeria back here with us. We will be very grateful for whatever you give us or do not give us, I promise… 🙂 but it is just exciting making the list!

Point number 5….

DT’s on the phone.. got to go…

Then i’ll study afterwards, I promise!

Thanks for reading…

 

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Distraction blog

  1. And she virtually landed at my door steps. lol. It is amazing what some women have been able to achieve in life. And she starting at 30? Who says if you don’t make it before 30, you can never make it? It is all about God’s timing and you not being idle.

    Who says you can’t be a CFO in less than 10 years? All God’s timing my dear.

    As for the gifts and Nigerians, my advise (though it might be late especially if you have sent out IVs). Ask that they give cash and not bring gifts. Saves you the stress of first having to store gifts you are never going use (they would never leave Nigeria trust me). Had a family friend who actually specified cash and not less than 10k. Lol. That’s pretty extreme but it got the message across. And your friends here can then go to John Lewis and get gifts. Makes life easy.

    AND CONCENTRATE AND READ O. All the best

    • yes o! I virtually landed at your door steps! LOL I warned you…;)
      lol @ only getting 10k.. mehn.. why na? LOL I am hoping it is not the case here o. I just feel a bit weird asking for just money. I have ordered the gift card inserts and will include them in the invites. If they buy gifts on the gift list great.. if they do not .. well… we’ll see. Will let you know how it goes!
      The Mock smacked my behind mehn.. but I get my feedback in 2 days.. we’ll see how it went!
      Just can’t wait for it to be over! xxx

  2. Ah distraction blog entries are so very important from time to time. About the CFO, men, even me I am inspired. All the best in your exams. : )

  3. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog and for all your lovely comments! Congrats on your upcoming wedding. I will be following your journey.

    We registered with House of Fraser. Everyone was doing John Lewis but I found it so hard to find items that were not over the top expensive. I know we weren’t the ones buying from it but I felt bad putting a £30 salt and pepper set for example when I could get one from Tesco for like £5. What I will say about John Lewis is that their customer service is AM-A-Z-ING! I used them to register for my baby shower and have bought lots of baby items since. Yes some things are pricey but the quality is good and they price match!

    • Aww thank you! Yea, I have heard a lot about their customer sevice which further encouraged me to go with them. But they are very expensive. I think what chauffed me the most was the cost for trays, as in, trays you put your plate of food on to eat – the cheapest decent one I found was about £30. Makes me wonder if all the trays they share at Nigerian’s weddings actually cost £30. Too expensive if you ask me.

      Thanks again! 🙂

  4. Hey thanks for stopping by my blog and for all your lovely comments! Congrats on your upcoming wedding. I will be following your journey.

    We registered with House of Fraser. Everyone was doing John Lewis but I found it so hard to find items that were not over the top expensive. I know we weren’t the ones buying from it but I felt bad putting a £30 salt and pepper set for example when I could get one from Tesco for like £5. What I will say about John Lewis is that their customer service is AM-A-Z-ING! I used them to register for my baby shower and have bought lots of baby items since. Yes some things are pricey but the quality is good and they price match!

It will be lovely to read your comments....

