Angelsbeauty's Blog

…. what's next on my random mind?….

To be sad or rejoice?

It’s been a season of mixed emotions.

I have heard a lot of good news, from engagements, to weddings, to babies, to passing exams to promotions and the list goes on.

At the same time, I have heard a lot of bad news, mainly deaths!

For example, one of my best friends lost his mum a couple of weeks ago, very unexpected. I never met her, intact, I have never met him, but we have been online friends for about 8/9 years and are quite close. While I am trying to think about what he is going through and how hard it must be for him, we finally bought my car, remember numerous posts ago how I said my dad was getting me a car for my graduation present, well I graduated about 3 or so years ago and because I don’t have a license yet, he didn’t buy the car. However, as I am now married, he handed over the cash and we bought my car and now I am going to practice in it till I pass. So yea, good news and happy news. I try to smile and be happy and then I remember the sad news.

Before his mom, another close friend lost her dad about a week before my wedding. I am there happy about my wedding, then I think about what my friend is going through loosing her dad. Another high school friend lost her dad as well about 2 weeks before my wedding. Yet another high school mate lost her mum too, then MsTizzle’s hospital admission too got me thinking, it could be anyone. I am so pleased she is okay now and I pray for speedy recovery for her. However, another one of my best friends is getting married soon, yayyyy! Her introduction is today, so another happy news. So in the midst of the wedding, new car, promotion, I am still sad, because my friends are sad! Does that make sense? So I have kind of being in a mood in the last few weeks. Sometimes smiling and laughing, other times deep in thought and moody. Plus I haven’t really being happy at work either. But I hope things will get better. Only time will tell.

So, I have been thinking… the bible says in every situation, give thanks. So I have been giving thanks, even when I am moody and happy, I say thank you Lord. Been chatting with my friend, Owo, who lost his mum, trying to get him to get closer to God now, despite what his mind may tell him.. like why would God let that happen. Its hard sha.

I have noticed recently, that when good things are happen, the devil finds a way of rearing his ugly head, to rain on your parade you know. So from today onwards, I am not going to let ‘it’ decide my mood. I will mourn with those who mourn and laugh with those who laugh and I pray God will teach me to do it the best way. I take this opportunity to say thank you Lord for the blessings in my life and I ask and pray that you’ll comfort those who have lost loved ones in Jesus name – Amen.

Till we meet again…

xoxo Angel xoxo

 

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “To be sad or rejoice?

  1. When you are joyful, be joyful; when you are sad, be sad. If God has given you a sweet cup, don’t make it bitter; and if He has given you a bitter cup, don’t try and make it sweet; take things as they come.

    The above statement is one that I remember at least once a day. A lot happens to different people every day and the one vice that may people have is insensitivity. Pray for a way to balance it all.

    😦 too many people have died this year.

  2. I know what u mean!!! Rejoice with those who rejoice, mourn with those who mourn. Ur emotions mirror mine right now. All in all we give God the glory. Thank you for being there. Aa s’ore d’ale l’oruko Jesu.

    Congratulations on the car!! (((Big hug)))

  3. Being happy about a situation does not take away from sadness or empathy you might feel in regards to another situation. It’s ok to be happy at joyful things without feeling guilty for not feeling sad about other things. As long as you have a pure heart, you’re ok. The fantastic thing about this wonderful God we serve is that He sees all and understands all without us needing to say things out loud.

    Congratulations on the car!!! It’s burriful! Xxxx

  4. Indeed!
    It is by HIS GRACE also, we remain thankful, because as humans we are weak.
    congratulations on the car.

  5. Congratulations on the car. You’re such an insightful person for you to feel the way you do about your friends’ predicament. My sister, the bible says “Faithful are the wounds of a friend… ” I’d rather feel the way you do than curl up and watch Korean dramas for 12hrs (my fav shows). You’re just human jare.

  6. In all things, we should give thanks. You summed it up nicely in the last paragraph.

  7. itune005 on said:

    i guess you’re fulfilling that part which says, rejoice with those who rejoice and mourn with those who mourn.
    its aiit to feel that way and pray God uses it to draw Him closer to himself
    nice blog btw..

  8. that’s why King Solomon summed it up correctly that “there is a time and season for everything”.

    Thanksgiving is an attitude that God wants us to have at all times…….. It’s a choice
    we have to make.

It will be lovely to read your comments....

