Angelsbeauty's Blog

…. what's next on my random mind?….

Snippets

*dusts cobwebs, waves frantically*

Hello!

I will start by saying many thanks for your lovely comments regarding my aunt’s burial. I really appreciate it. She is in a better place and her memories, ever smiling face and jovial full of energy nature will always live on in my memories.

So to the matter at hand…

Molly & Flump

Our neighbour has two cats! I don’t like cats, they scare me. Not because I think they are witches, more because they jump really high and they scratch and it is hard to say if they like me or not because unlike dogs they don’t bark. I don’t even know what their ‘meow’ means!

So this faithful day, I got a taxi home from the station, it dropped me in front of the gate. It was already getting dark, but I saw something walking towards me. It was the brown cat. I thought, if I walked towards it, it would stop or go away. It didn’t. So I walked back outside and stood in front of the gate, starred at the cat from the gate. There was no one around to distract the cat or something. So I thought long and hard of what to do. So I decided that since the cat was sitting and waiting for me in the middle of the driveway, I would just walk on the pathway instead. As if the cat heard me, it walked towards the pathway, jumped on the fence demacating both places and sat on the fence inbetween. So I was flustered again.

Then I thought, I will make a loud sound and maybe it would scare the cat. I hit the gate really hard, but the cat didn’t budge. Luckily, it was loud enough for the neighbour who lives closest to the gate to hear. She opened her curtains and I signalled for her to open her door. LOL narrating this is actually cracking me up. She opens her garden door and I said “Hi, I am really sorry, but I am scared of the cat so I can’t wal to my house”. Luckily she was understanding. She came out of her house and apologised and said they were her cats. Bear in mind I had no idea they were her cats. As soon as she came out, the cat ran to her and then I started edging towards my house which is opposite hers. She explained that the brown one that was sitting in my way was Molly and the black one is called Flump. Apparently, she didn’t like cats either, but her friends were separating and they were going to put the cat down, so she volunteered to keep it and since then they have grown on her and she got another one, being Flump. She said Molly was very friendly and always wanted a pat or cuddle but Flump doesn’t like people so he stayed out of the way. I told her Molly has been trying to enter our house for a while, like walking close behind us when we go in. She was like.. “Don’t let her in, you will never be able to get rid of her!” I was very grateful for this advice!

So that was the story of how I was saved from Molly.

Baking, Cooking & Knitting

I seem to be spending a lot of my free time either cooking, baking or knitting. Oh, and reading novels as well. I have read like 5 new books in the last 6 weeks. I have no idea how to blog about them on my book club blog, but we’ll see sha. I will try. I love reading!

Anyway, so I decided to take my baking to the next level, you will think I mean icing my cakes. Nope, I mean baking pastries! So my first attempt was to bake croissants. Now I know these don’t particularly look like croissants, I mean if you walked into starbucks today and they gave you these for free to go with your latte, i’m sure you will say no thank you.

Now, this is my excuse! I used margarine instead of butter as recommended by the recipe. So I couldn’t work on the pastry properly because the magarine kept seeping out. However, next time I will be sure to use butter. You can even see some of the melted margarine on the tray.

Next, I decided to finally bake sausage rolls and actually make the pastry myself! This time I used butter, but too much! LOL. I am sure you are beginning to question my baking talent.Β  This time it baked well, but as soon as you bit into the pastry, it pretty much disintegrated in your mouth, like it melted, or crumbled unto my tongue.

Then, I decided to give baking a break and do some cooking. First on my list was Lasagne. I have also never made this before, however my first attempt was delicious.

Then, I remember the first dish I learnt how to cook, yam peppersoup! I was a bit worried I would have forgotten the recipe, but I was surprised. I didn’t. I had some mackerel left from moi moi I made so I incorporated it into the peppersoup. Worked nicely.

And then I realised although I love lasagne, I have never made it before, so I decided to make it and it was delicious…!

So that is it on the cooking and baking front.

I have also picked up my knitting again!

A neighbour taught me how to knit when I was in primary school. I remembered bits and bobs. I picked it up again while I was at university and then gave it up during my research project in my final year. Obviously, with all my exams in Edinburgh and co, didn’t really have time but since we got married I have had some more time, so picked it up again. Youtube has been a great friend and knitting looms! Bought a straight one and a circular one. In the last 3 months, I have knitted a scarf and a matching hat, crocheting a blanket, crocheting a loop scarf and knitting another loop scarf and finally, my most prized project is a hat I knitted for my 2 year old nephew.

So that’s all for now. I won’t be long this time. I promise.

xxx

Angel

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Snippets

  1. You are really good with your hands o.

  2. You are really good with your hands o

  3. One if the Vs on said:

    Eeeew I hate cats too 😦 I cried once because a cat refused to move and I couldn’t get to my door.

    See all the yummy yummy food!!!!!!! I want!!!!!!!

  4. I HATE cats. I hate themso much that i go into panic mode when i see one. There’s one who comes to pick from my bin every night. I told hubby I am going to poison it. He’s the one begging me oh..infact, I have stopped putting anything fishy into that particular bin.

    I wish i can knit the way yo do.It’s so lovely and neat.

    • LOOL! Please don’t poison it o. Apparently, there are plants that exist that repel cats. maybe look into that and buy some for your house!

      Thank you. It has a lot to do with youtube o. lol i learnt from youtube and bought the equipments that would help me. Look around for a knitting loom and I can assure you, you would be knitting too soon.

  5. Cats, ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. Awon aje. Loools. They don’t fear humans.
    As for the food, coming soon for mine *straight face*. Good thing you are knitting. No more spending money getting winter gear….

  6. Lol at the cats story… the croissants looks “someway” lol, but you still try sha. I no fit do if am asked to.
    That lasagne looks yummy and oh… that hat looks really beautiful.
    weldone dear, best wishes!

  7. That hat is very nice! Now as for those croissants, dem get k-leg sha. I no go lie. But I’m sure they tasted good πŸ™‚

  8. I HATE cats!
    I don’t know how to bake but love pastries!
    Don’t know how to knit!

    Gal! i admire you so muc…you are not only brilliant, but also talented! πŸ˜€

It will be lovely to read your comments....

